Radical media, politics and culture.

Fake WTO Website Draws Ire of Officials

Hi there! We run http://www.gatt.org/. Here's what the WTO--that's the
World Trade Organization, of course--has been saying about us on their
front page at http://www.wto.org/:

"Warning: Fake WTO website - http://www.gatt.org - deceitful
and a nuisance to serious users"

They go on to describe how gatt.org interferes with "serious users"
looking for "genuine information"
(http://www.wto.org/english/news_e/news01_e/gattdo torg_e.htm):

We think the WTO is acting just a little bit paranoid, don't you?
After all, this is less than TEN DAYS before the start of the WTO's
big hooplah in Doha, Qatar.

Maybe they're nervous--in Qatar, any form of protest is strictly
illegal, and VERY heavily punishable (depending on the King's mood).
How will people react when the first hundred protesters get their
heads chopped clean off? Morocco doesn't like that sort of extremism,
and neither do France or Nepal. Lots of beheaded peaceniks is likely
to annoy almost everyone!

Funny thing, the WTO acted this way just before Seattle as well:
http://www.wto.org/english/news_e/pres99_e/pr151_e .htm . It probably
is just a bad case of nerves.

See you on the chopping block!

Your friends at http://theyesmen.org/

p.s. Here is the text of the WTO's Halloween news item:


30 October 2001

Warning: fake WTO website

A fake WTO website - http://www.gatt.org - has been created
to deceive Internet users by copying the entire official WTO
website. While the design is identical, the texts have been
distorted. The fake site also uses the email address

The use of WTO designs, logos and materials is strictly
unauthorized. Worse, some pages on the fake website could
cause unsuspecting visitors to reveal their email addresses
and other information to the site's operators. The fake site
could also be picked up by search engines, a nuisance for
serious users looking for genuine information.

The only official WTO site is www.wto.org.

(In an e-mail sent today to subscribers, they went even further,
claiming "it uses a form which will reveal your e-mail address to the
fake site's operators, who may then make use of it to send you
misinformation in the name of the WTO.")